Rock Balancing

Musings from Quark Land

Center of gravity is such a magical thing though it’s a wonder at how simple it works. Do it right and you employ a basic trick of physics to add a sense of wonder to your environment. Take rocks for example and rock balancing.

I’ve mentioned rock balancing before, I’m sure. It’s a trick I picked up from a naturalist years ago down at KEEP Ocean, an outdoor science school. I always try to learn where I can and when I saw the naturalist balancing rock I had to try for myself. Since then whenever I’m around a place where I can try to balance some rocks I just have to try it. I don’t go for the crazy monument style that pops up online and I don’t do it as performance art. I try to think about it as a meditative exercise and focus on balancing point rocks…

View original post 422 more words

Leave a Reply

